Board of Trustees

Save the Children Board of Trustees, as of June 16, 2017

Our Board of Trustees is dedicated to the belief that every child in the U.S. and around the world deserves a future.

Jill T. Biden, Ed. D., Chair
Second Lady of the United States, 2009-2017; Professor, Northern Virginia Community College; Member since February 2017; Ex Officio Member of all Committees

Debra Fine, Vice Chair
Founder and President, Fine Capital Partners; Member since February 2013; Member of Executive and Finance & Administration Committees

Dawn Sweeney, Vice Chair
President and CEO, National Restaurant Association and National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation; Member since February 2015; Member of Executive, Nominations & Governance and Audit Committees

Tom Murphy, Chair Emeritus
Former Chairman and CEO, Capital Cities/ABC

Cynthia Augustine
Executive VP, Global Chief Talent Officer, FCB; Member since March 2014; Member, U.S. Programs Committee, Compensation Committee Chair

Irving W. Bailey, II
Senior Advisor, Chrysalis Ventures, former Chairman and CEO, Providian Corporation; Member since February 2017, Member, Audit and Investment Committees

Abhijit Banerjee
Founder, Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab; Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Member since February 2016

Emanuel (Manny) Chirico
President and CEO, PVH Corp; Director, Dick’s Sporting Goods; Member since February 2015; Member, Audit and Finance & Administration Committees

Mary Dillon
CEO, Ulta Beauty, Member since February 2016; Member, Marketing & Communications Committee

Joaquin Duato
Worldwide Chairman, Pharmaceuticals, Johnson & Johnson; Member since 2012; Member, Compensation and U.S. Programs Committees

Jennifer Garner
Actress, Artist Ambassador, Save the Children USA; Member since 2014, Member, Marketing & Communications and U.S. Programs Committees

Philip H. Geier, Jr.
Founder, The Geier Group; former Chair and CEO, The InterPublic Group of Companies, Inc.; Previously served two terms on the Board, rejoined in June 2017; Member, Marketing & Communications Committee

Jim Goldman
Senior Advisor, Eurazeo Capital; Former CEO, Godiva Chocolatier; Board of Directors, Domino’s Pizza; Member since February 2015; Member, Finance & Administration and Marketing & Communications Committees

Charlotte Guyman
Director, Berkshire Hathaway Corporation; Director, Space Needle Corporation; Board of Advisors, BrooksRunning; founding Member, Microsoft Alumni Foundation; partner, Social Venture Partners; Strategic Advisor, Cameoworks; Campaign Co-Chair, University of Washington; Member since 2006, rejoined March 2014; U.S. Programs Committee Chair, Member, Executive and Audit Committees

John Hayes
Former Chief Marketing Officer, American Express Company; Member since February 2013; Marketing & Communications Committee Chair

Austin Hearst
CEO and Chair, Chestnut Holdings; Board of Hearst Corporation; previously served on the Board from 1998-2005; re-elected 2011; Member, Marketing & Communications Committee

Ernie Herrman
CEO and President, TJX Companies; Member since March 2014; Member, Marketing & Communications, Development and U.S. Programs Committees

Dr. Larry Horowitz
President and Managing General Partner, Selby Lane Enterprises, LLC; Managing Partner, Selby Life Sciences; Member since 2006, rejoined in March 2014; Member, Nominations & Governance and Finance & Administration Committees

Brad Irwin
President and CEO, Welch Foods, Inc.; former President, Cadbury North America; previously served on Board from 2002-2008; re-elected 2011; Member, Marketing & Communications, Audit, Compensation and U.S. Programs Committees

Freda Lewis-Hall
Chief Medical Officer, Pfizer, Inc.; Member since March 2012, Member, Nominations & Governance Committee

Joan Lombardi
Director, Early Opportunities, LLC; Sr. Advisor, Buffett Early Childhood Fund; Sr. Advisor the Bernard van Leer Foundation; Member since February 2013, Member, U.S. Programs Committee

Mark V. Mactas
Former President and COO, Towers Watson; former President, Chair and CEO, Towers Perrin; member since September 2005; Chair of the Nominations & Governance Committee; Member, Finance & Administration and Executive Committees

Joe Mandato
Venture Capital Investor in the Life Sciences; Lecturer, Stanford University; The Rev. Carlo Rossi Chair in Entrepreneurship and Management, University of San Francisco; Sr. Advisor, Mainsail; former President and CEO, Origen Medsystems; previously served on Board from 2009 – 2015, rejoined in February 2017; Member of the Nominations & Governance, Audit and U.S. Programs Committees

David J. Mastrocola
Partner, Bradford Hill Capital LLC; Former Partner and Managing Director, Goldman, Sachs & Co; previously served on Board from 2009 – 2015, rejoined in February 2016; Member of the Finance & Administration and Audit Committees, and Compensation Sub-Committee

Peg McGetrick
Director and former CEO, Grantham, Mayo van Otterloo & Co. (GMO); Founding Partner/Portfolio Manager, Liberty Square Asset Management; Member since February 2017; Member Development Committee and Chair of Investment Committee

Carolyn S. Miles
President and CEO, Save the Children USA; Board of Directors of Darden Business School; U.S. Global Leadership Coalition, Modernizing Foreign Assistance Network; InterAction; Board Member since September 2011, Ex Officio Member of All Committees

Catherine Oppenheimer
Co-Founder, National Dance Institute of New Mexico; Member since February 2015, serves on Development and U.S. Programs Committee

Charles R. Perrin
Former Chairman, Warnaco, Inc.; Former Chairman and CEO, Avon Products, Inc.; former Chairman and CEO, Duracell International, Inc.; Member since February 2007; Member of the Executive, Nominations & Governance and Finance Committees

Charles H. Rivkin
Former U.S. Assistant Secretary of State of Economic and Business Affairs and former U.S. Ambassador to France and Monaco; previously served on the Board, rejoined in June 2017; Member, Nominations & Governance and Development Committees

Cokie Roberts
Political Commentator, NPR and ABC News; Member since 2012; Member of the Executive and Nominations & Governance Committees

Sunil Sani
CEO, Heritage Sportswear, LLC; Executive Officer, CGS Industries, Inc.; previously served on Board from 2009-2015, rejoined in February 2016; Chair of the Development Committee; Member, Executive Committee and Marketing & Communications Committee

Pernille Spiers-Lopez
Former President and CEO, IKEA North America; former Global HR Manager, The IKEA Group; Trustee, Save the Children International; Corporate Director, ECCO, USA, Member since September 2006, Member, Development and Marketing & Communications Committees

Helene R. Sullivan
Former Vice President of Finance Save the Children; Member since February 2015; Member of Executive and Audit Committees, Chair of Finance & Administration Committee

Dona Davis Young
Former Chairman, President and CEO, The Phoenix Companies; Director, AEGON and Foot Locker; Trustee, Save the Children International; Member since December 2012; Chair of Audit Committee; Member, Development, Executive and U.S. Programs Committees

Twitter Facebook Pinterest Google+ More